The Directory of UK Brewers

Breweries In The Ceremonial County of County Down

We list 12 breweries in the Ceremonial County of County Down. Of these, 10 are open breweries, 2 are closed breweries and 0 are otherwise categorised (see footnote).

Breweries in production

Ards Brewing Company Ltd
(Newtownards, County Down 2011-Still Brewing)

Beer Hut Brewing Co Tap Room
(Kilkeel, County Down 2017-Still Brewing)

Bullhouse Brew Co Ltd
(Newtownards, County Down 2016-Still Brewing)

Farmmargeddon Brewing Co-op
(Comber, County Down 2014-Still Brewing)

Lecale Brewery Ltd
(Ardglass, County Down 2018-Still Brewing)

MashDown Brewery Ltd
(Banbridge, County Down 2018-Still Brewing)

Modest Beer
(Holywood, County Down 2019-Still Brewing)

Mourne Mountains Brewery Limited
(Warrenpoint, County Down 2015-Still Brewing)

Twisted Kettle Brewing Company
(Donaghadee, County Down 2019-Still Brewing)

Whitewater Brewing Co
(Castlewellan, County Down 1996-Still Brewing)

Breweries whose names are used on beer no longer in production

Maltmeister Brewery Closed
(Bangor, County Down 2015-2016)

The Station Works Brewery Closed No Cask Ale
(Newry, County Down 2013-2017)


Other categories of "brewery" include, amongst others, brewers whose status is uncertain and probably not brewing, closed breweries whose brands are produced elsewhere and brewery groups non-brewing headquarters. Contract, cuckoo and gypsy brewers, who are free to move premisses, and not allocated to a county.

Follow our updates using Twitter at

Last Updated : 19th March 2021