The Directory of UK Brewers

Breweries In The Local Government Authority area of South Lanarkshire

We list 3 breweries in the Local Government Authority area of South Lanarkshire. Of these, 1 are open breweries, 2 are closed breweries and 0 are otherwise categorised (see footnote).

Breweries in production

Strathaven Ales
(Craigmill, Lanarkshire 2005-Still Brewing)

Breweries whose names are used on beer no longer in production

Bothwell Brewery Closed
(Hamilton, Lanarkshire 1979-1982)

Craigmill Brewery Closed
(Strathaven, Lanarkshire 1999-2004)


Other categories of "brewery" include, amongst others, brewers whose status is uncertain and probably not brewing, closed breweries whose brands are produced elsewhere and brewery groups non-brewing headquarters. Contract, cuckoo and gypsy brewers, who are free to move premisses, and not allocated to a county.

Last Updated : 18th April 2022