The Directory of UK Brewers

Joshua Tetley & Son

Beers Not Brewed By Original Company Following A Takeover
AddressJoshua Tetley & Son
Carlsberg-Tetley Brewing Ltd
PO Box 142
The Brewery


Brewing started on this site in 1792 and was taken over by Josuha Tetley in 1822. In 1960 they merged with Walker Cains to form Tetley Walker Ltd and in 1961 became the main cask ale brewery for Allied Breweries. Now owned by Carlsberg Marston's Brewing Company Limited, this brewery, the world's largest producer of cask ale, now brews a number of brands, both for Carlsberg Tetley and other former brewers and pub chains. Brewing ceased in Leeds in June 2011 with all cask brewing transferred to Marstons Banks's Beer plant in Wolverhampton and keg to Carlsberg's plant in Northampton. In 2018, the brewing of Tetleys bitter was transferred to Camerons Brewery Ltd however other beers using the name were brewed under license by The Leeds Brewery Company Ltd.

Beers Brewed

We do not maintain a list of beers brewed by each brewery. There may be a list on the brewery's own website. For historical information, we suggest you also visit the brewery page on the unfortunately no longer updated Beermad.


The information contained above was believed to be correct at the date indicated. However we accept no responsibility for any false, misleading or inaccurate information within this site. We are not Joshua Tetley & Son and have no connection with them. This is not their official web site. If you believe any of the above information to be wrong, then let us at know by contacting us.

All Trademarks and logos are recognized as the property of their owners.

Since the 1974 local government reorganisation there has been much controversy over many county boundaries. The links we provide cover all areas possibilities: Ceremonial Counties which are the counties for which a Lord-Lieutenant has been appointed, Historic Counties (and their allied county boroughs) which represent the position before the 1974 re-organisation and Local Authority which represents the third tear District level.

Last Checked : 1st September 2023 by RP

Last Updated : 30th September 2020 by RP