The Directory of UK Brewers

Scottish Courage Limited

Brewery Group
AddressScottish Courage Limited
Fountain House
160 Dundee Street
EH11 1DQ


Scottish Courage was formed when in 1995 Scottish & Newcastle purchased the Courage brewing interests from the Australian brewing group Fosters. This resulted in the closure of a number of breweries and left the following breweries in operation:

Fountain Brewery - Closed at the end of 2004
Caledonian Brewery
John Smith's Brewery
McCowans Brewhouse
T&R Theakstone - Sold in October 2003
Tyne Brewery - Closed late 2004
Dunston Brewery - Taken over during 2004 to replace Tyne Brewery

Beer was also produced under contact at Thomas Hardy.

A number of other brands are used for cask ales brewed by this group including Woodham & Sons and McEwan. In April 2008 the company was acquired by Heineken and became Heineken UK Ltd.


The information contained above was believed to be correct at the date indicated. However we accept no responsibility for any false, misleading or inaccurate information within this site. We are not Scottish Courage Limited and have no connection with them. This is not their official web site. If you believe any of the above information to be wrong, then let us at know by contacting us.

All Trademarks and logos are recognized as the property of their owners.

Since the 1974 local government reorganisation there has been much controversy over many county boundaries. The links we provide cover all areas possibilities: Ceremonial Counties which are the counties for which a Lord-Lieutenant has been appointed, Historic Counties (and their allied county boroughs) which represent the position before the 1974 re-organisation and Local Authority which represents the third tear District level.

Last Updated : 29th March 2011